Hall Of Fame

On Wednesday the 16th of December 2021 in front of a crowd of 130 invited guests the St George District Cricket Club announced the first 16 inductees of it's new Hall Of Fame at the Norm O'Neill Cricket Training Facility in Penshurst.


The event is the first of a host of celebrations for the clubs Centenary of First Grade Cricket over the next 12 months.


The first 16 club legends announced were members from the clubs first Fifty years of existence with further inductees to be announced from remaining decades over the next several years.


Out of the first 16 inductees only three were able to join us in person to receive this amazing acknowledgement. They were current club patrons Brian Booth and Warren Saunders as well as the legendary bowler, Keith Francis.


The rest have of the cricketers announced have sadly passed but many were proudly represented by family members who enjoyed a wonderful day of fond reflection. 


The event was hosted by St George DCC President Kevin Greene and commemorative plaques were presented by St George, NSW and Australian cricketing legend Murray Bennett.


The first 16 inductees of the St George District Cricket Club were announced in the following order -


A.G (Alan) Fairfax - St George Cap No.19

D.G. (Don) Bradman - St George Cap No.49

J.E. (Ernie) Green - St George Cap No.55

H.J. (Harry) Theak - St George Cap No.57

E. (Ernie) Laidler - St George Cap No.63

W.J. (Bill) O'Reilly - St George Cap No.84

A.R. (Arthur) Morris  - St George Cap No.100

R. (Ross) Longbottom  - St George Cap No.102

R.R. (Ray) Lindwall  - St George Cap No.109

R.R. (Mick) Favell  - St George Cap No.133

L.E. (Les) Favell - St George Cap No.147

W.J. (Warren) Saunders  - St George Cap No.163

K.R. (Keith) Francis  - St George Cap No.165

B.C. (Brian) Booth  - St George Cap No.168

W.J. (Bill) Watson  - St George Cap No. 169

N.C. (Norm) O'Neill  - St George Cap No.170


Out of the 16 original inductees, 9 played Test Cricket for Australia (Fairfax, Bradman, O'Reilly, Morris, Lindwall, Les Favell, Booth, Watson and O'Neill).


Several Months later at the St George DCC Annual Dinner for the 2020-21 season 3 more inductees were announced from the 1960's. They were - 


J.F/ (John) Martin - St George Cap No.206

R.F. (Ray) Tozer - St George Cap No.213

K.J. (Kerry) O'Keeffe - St George Cap No.218


Kerry O'Keeffe also went on to represent Australia.